Burnout: also known as insurmountable fuckery

23Apr10

You know, I never thought that I would, but I got burnt out. I’m taking a hiatus from activism for a couple of months to hopefully get my steam up. I think I always expected to maybe someday get burn out, but I wasn’t prepared for what it would feel like.

It feels pretty fucking awful. I simultaneously just do not give a flying fuck about the world’s problems and really, really guilty for bailing on everyone. Especially now with all the End Demand Illinois stuff. But I’ve been letting people down left and right and I just don’t care anymore. Which is why I’m not helpful. So it’s more a hiatus so that everyone isn’t counting on me when I won’t actually do shit.

I realized I was burnt out when one night (I probably had been drinking), I thought about everything that’s fucked up about the world and all the inequality and cruelty and how insurmountable all the fuckery is. And I just felt crushed. I think I may have even cried.

So, yeah. Fucking burnt out. How weird.

2 Responses to “Burnout: also known as insurmountable fuckery”

  1. 1 Amber Rhea

    I know the feeling. It happens. And you know, a lot of people parrot the line “you have to take care of yourself first,” but the truth is, I think very few of them actually mean it. Because in my experience people are really quick to get pissed at me if I dare to ACTUALLY take care of myself first. So, trust that I’m NOT just handing you a cliche when I said, you have to take care of yourself first! And as activists (current, former, part-time, whatever)… really we have to take care of each other. I don’t want to be a part of any movement that expects its members to run themselves ragged.

    • Thanks! That means a lot to me. I feel fortunate to have good friends in this movement who genuinely care about me (and vice versa) about all else. And I agree. If we can’t support each other, we won’t ever get ahead.


Leave a Reply

