Exhaustion.

09Mar09

I am so tired. I have inevitably, as I always so, internalized all the stress and drama of the past two weeks. First the Operation Cross Country nonsense, and then the Craigslist fuckery. I am just so tired. There is still so much to be done. And I just need a fucking break.

I’m very proud of the response we churned out to the Tom Dart nonsense as SWOP-Chicago. We mobilized very quickly to come up with a statement and talking points to address to the media.

I always feel like there is more I could be doing. More, more, more. Keep sending out press statements, keep circulating the word, keep reaching Chicago residents about the exense and utter bullshit. But, you know, there’s a line. We as activists have to take care of ourselves, too. If I put too much effort into this, I’ll be a sex worker activist.

On that note, I do have a couple of clients I “activist” to. I’ve given them the run down on rights issues. It always makes me so angry when clients refuse to give me their names or whatever. (These I end up not seeing.) I want to scream at them, listen, assholes, just look at the statistics. I’m at a much, much greater risk of arrest and exposure than you, even though what I do isn’t that risky. (Well, unless Dart decides to take a note from NYC.)

One Response to “Exhaustion.”

  1. I always feel like there is more I could be doing. More, more, more. Keep sending out press statements, keep circulating the word, keep reaching Chicago residents about the exense and utter bullshit. But, you know, there’s a line. We as activists have to take care of ourselves, too.

    Boy oh boy do I know what you mean!


Leave a Reply

