I will not be guilty about these pleasures.

08Dec08

It is the holiday slump. It’s that time of year when business is incredibly slow. I refresh my mailbox, waiting, and check my phone frequently. With the economy down, I’m not as in demand.

How am I filling my time? With pleasures I ought to consider guilty! Well, actually, today I upgraded my bank account, opening a special one for my business income. For this, I somehow earned an aluminum water bottle. Having a bank account with more bells and whistles than I understand, as well as an investment portfolio now, makes me feel like a real grown up.

But back to the guilty pleasures. I am playing computer games. I stumbled on a website with a bunch of old RPG and text-based games I played as a kid, way back when computer screens were green and beige, Remember 3.5″ floppies? Oh god. Those kind of games.

I have to run them on in a DOS emulator. And several times the games have crashed because my computer is running too fast. Oh the irony.

In addition, I am going on action movie binges and eating piles of comfort food. (Mashed potatoes, open-faced un-turkey sandwiches.) I place my comfort food obsession with long walks. I adore the city in winter.

I am hoping that post-New Years, many with resolve to be beaten up.

One Response to “I will not be guilty about these pleasures.”

  1. “I stumbled on a website with a bunch of old RPG and text-based games I played as a kid, way back when computer screens were green and beige, Remember 3.5″ floppies? Oh god. Those kind of games.”

    *big grin* I grew up with a Commodore 64. My favorite game on there was something involving ducks and hippos and the ducks avoiding the hippos in the canals and such. Memory is fuzzy and I can’t remember the name but it was a fun ass game!** If you ask a 20-year-old what a floppy is they look at you like you’ve grown two heads! Oh, the halcyon days before Microsoft.

    Let’s see, I was/am/will forever be a huge pen-and-paper RPG dork. Used to play Star Wars and Shadowrun RPG with my brother and his friends. Loved to collect all the pretty, pretty dice. I remember when I saw my first d20, it was a cobalt blue, the numbers written in a creamy white. Wow, nostalgia! Thanks for the memory lane walk. 🙂

    **FOUND IT! Here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ducks_Ahoy hehe. kewl! Wikipedia has a whole list of Commodore 64 games. heh. Awesome.


Leave a Reply

